The 9 Books

Greek Sappho

Hello! I am a visual artist who makes books and artistic prints about the character of ancient poetess Sappho. Part of my project is a collaboration with theatre actresses, who enact the character of Sappho and transform her into a contemporary person.

Now I am looking for a Greek actress, who would like to be a part of it

!003twarz_400

I think that printmaking exhibitions lack this aspect of storytelling and direct connection, which theatre has. On the other hand, theatre performances suffer from their short-lived existence; any attempts at recording them usually fail, because the “here and now” aspect of presence cannot be preserved. This is my idea to extend the doctoral study programme into a lifetime art project.

safoksiazkaII_zdjecia800_03

Original fragments of Sappho are in aeolic dialect which is slightly different even from ancient Greek – I wonder if a Greek native speaker could somehow interpret it, instead of reading a translation to modern Greek.

M Safo

I am looking for a Greek performer to join my project, which is about (re)creating the character of Sappho. The idea is to make a short video with a Greek native speaker, using some fragments of Sappho, rearranged by me to allow for inventing a new story. The text will also appear in my other artworks on paper (artist’s books, illustrations). This is not a paid work, but I always reward the performers with my artworks (the books) and I credit them properly. The Sappho who emerges from this work is a confident, dominant, emotional, classy woman who speaks first person even about her intimate relationships. She is a woman of all ages, as she speaks about her youth (and from a young woman’s perspective), but also about old age; therefore, in the future I will also be looking for a very old Sappho.

Book II in the making

As Sappho says in Jane Montgomery Griffith’s play:

“Opening the closet has never been my problem: it’s choosing what to take out that’s the issue. No chiton, though; no peplos; no sheets and safety pins; no Greek stuff here. That’s not what this is about. This is about me; this is about her; this is about filling in the gaps…”

  Jane Montgomery Griffiths, Sappho… in 9 Fragments

Sappho on a coin

 

Fill the form below or contact me at: anna.juchnowicz@gmail.com

This entry was published on 15 December, 2015 at 10:55 am and is filed under The 9 Books. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
